- Frozen Latitudes

Christoph Ruhsam Frozen Latitudes

A photographic tribute to the beauty of the High Arctic.

“Our inner goal, which gave direction to the outer goal in search for possible routes, was strongly influenced by the desire for pristine landscapes, untouched by humans. The aesthetics of the Arctic landscape, with its sparse nature, reduced to its essence should find room in the depths of our souls. Virtually, we sought for the permanent behind the transitory form or for the imperishable in the transient. Comparable with the desert experiences of the ancient Christian hermit monks hundreds of years ago, our image of Frozen Latitudes became complemented with a spiritual dimension: how will each of us deal with the experience of loneliness and absolute self-reliance?”

Christoph Ruhsam is a passionate landscape photographer and due to his interest in the cryosphere has specialized over centuries on the Arctic. He is secretary of the Austrian Society for Polar Research.

“The aesthetics of the Arctic landscape, with its sparse nature, reduced to its essence should find room in the depths of our souls. What is a human being in the vastness of Frozen Latitudes? A breathing heartbeat.”

59,00
inkl. 7% MwSt.
PhotographerChristoph Ruhsam
Format11.8 × 9.2 inches
Size288 pages, Hardcover (thread-stitched)
Languageenglish, german
ISBN978-3-946688-40-2
Release01.08.2018

- Frozen Latitudes

Christoph Ruhsam Frozen Latitudes

A photographic tribute to the beauty of the High Arctic.

„Unser inneres Ziel, das dem äußeren Ziel im Suchen nach möglichen Routen die Richtung gab, war stark von der Sehnsucht nach unberührter, von Menschen nicht veränderter Landschaft geprägt. Wir suchten gewissermaßen nach dem Dauerhaften hinter der vergänglichen Form oder nach dem Unvergänglichen im Vergänglichen. Vergleichbar mit den Wüstenerfahrungen alter christlicher Einsiedlermönche vor hunderten Jahren, ergänzte sich unser Bild von Frozen Latitudes mit einer spirituellen Dimension: Wie geht jeder von uns mit der Erfahrung von Einsamkeit und absolutem Auf-sich-gestellt-Sein um?“

Christoph Ruhsam ist passionierter Landschaftsfotograf und hat sich durch sein Interesse für die Kryosphäre seit Jahrzehnten auf die Arktis spezialisiert. Er ist Schriftführer der Österreichischen Gesellschaft für Polarforschung.

„Die Ästhetik arktischer Landschaft mit ihrer Kargheit und Reduktion auf das Wesentliche sollte in der Tiefe unserer Seelen Platz finden. Was ist der Mensch in der Weite der Frozen Latitudes? Ein atmender Herzschlag.“

59,00
inkl. 7% MwSt.
FotografChristoph Ruhsam
Format30 x 23,5 cm
Umfang288 Seiten, Hardcover (fadengebunden)
Spracheenglisch, deutsch
ISBN978-3-946688-40-2
Erscheinung01.08.2018